Atlanta Show

I just finished the last couple paintings for the Atlanta Show at the Bank of America building downtown.    The show was on then off then on then off right up until the last second.  I went so long thinking it wasn’t going to happen and not painting for it and then there it was staring me in the face and saying where are the paintings for the show?  It was like I was working for the newspaper again.  They would call me at home during the morning news meeting and say something like we need a portrait of Jimmy Hoffa in an hour and a half.  I learned to draw at stop lights on my way in.  Deadline stress, I used to thrive on the stuff but, no more.  Bugatti

“Bugatti” 30×48 acrylic didn’t make it into the show because I destroyed the frame at the last minute.

Red Boat

“Red Boat” 30×30 acrylic is a sister piece to Red Hat done several months ago                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Red Hat

Red Hat

At Your Own RiskAt Your Own Risk 20×36 acrylic

Proper Skiff  16×20 acrylic

Proper Skiff

The rest of the pieces in the show are all marine subjects.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Atlanta Show”

  1. Southern Fried Scientist Says:

    I love “Red Boat”, reminds me of the docks downtown. These are great.

    • Scotty Says:

      Glad you liked Red Boat. Spent too long living aboard, it was painted from memory. Did you read any of the shark pieces?

  2. nursemyra Says:

    you portray movement very well

  3. Scotty Says:

    I know you’re a nurse but, have you studied art? Your take on movement in what most people would discribe as still life is insightful and something that most people would miss. Thanks for taking time. Your blog cracks me up, it’s a daily read for me.

Leave a Reply

